Credit Union Summer Reading List

Today’s blog comes courtesy of Denise Wymore, owner of consulting service for cooperatives, Denise Wymore, LLC.

I love summer. The smell of coconut oil mixing with the smell of a coconut martini while nibbling on coconut M & Ms reading a good book. I’m in Boca Raton as I write this and I just finished my 34th book on my Kindle that I purchased 9 months ago. I am a voracious reader.

So if you’re like me, and you always have a book on hand to read when you’re stuck in traffic, in line at security, getting a pedicure, or in a meeting (just kidding)  you need to read these books this summer:

1. Orbiting the Giant Hairball: A Corporate Fool’s Guide to Surviving With Grace by Gordon MacKenzie.

I picked up this book at an ASTD meeting over 10 years ago. I judged the book by its cover (which had an eye-catching doodle on it) and I was not disappointed. It’s written by a former Hallmark cards executive. In a company where creativity pays the bills, he found that the corporate hairball of politics and bureaucracy threatened to choke it off. Sound familiar? If so, you need this read.

2. The Cluetrain Manifesto: 10th Anniversary Edition by Christopher Locke, Doc Searls, David Weinberger and Rick Levine.

These guys practiced social media before there was such a thing. They started a website devoted to people signing a manifesto about the Internet. The books begins with their 95 theses (http://www.cluetrain.com/Cluetrain_10/95theses.html), that launched a movement. On the cluetrain.com site today it simply states, “If you only have time for one clue this year, this is the one to get….

We are not seats or eyeballs or end users or consumers, we are human beings – and our reach exceeds your grasp. Deal with it.

3. Brand Hijack: Marketing Without Marketing by Alex Wipperfurth

Today Amazon.com lists this as a bargain book and is selling hardcopies for only $5.58 so there’s no excuse for you not to buy it.  This book also has a very unique cover (which is why I bought it). It’s one of those books that, in my opinion, was way ahead of its time.  It gives powerful examples of brands that have been hijacked by loyal devoted customers and the companies who got it and those that didn’t. Let’s just say that if this book was written in 2010 – it would include the crashthegac.com story. A classic tale of brand hijacking.

Party on!

Leave a comment