Credit Union Summer Reading List Pt. II

Today’s blog comes courtesy of Christopher Morris, Manager of Communications & Web Resources for CUNA Councils. He blogs regularly at the newly created CUNAverse at http://cunaverse.com.

Like Denise, I’m a voracious reader. And my background is teaching high school English so I also love telling people what to read.

The following are some fairly new books that I’ve read (or am reading) that I think you will enjoy:

1. Switch: How to Change Things When Change Is Hard by Chip Heath and Dan Heath.

This is the follow-up to the also must-read Made to Stick by the Fast Company column writing Heath brothers. Their compelling case studies and easy-to-understand explanations will have you ruminating on all kinds of change in your life as you read. What I liked most about it is that it’s not just a “business” book – you’ll benefit both professionally and personally.

They also have some great resources on their website here. Having the “Switch framework” staring at me on my office wall is a nice reminder of how to get things done when I’m stuck.

2. Be the Hero: Three Powerful Ways to Overcome Challenges in Work and Life by Noah Blumenthal

Here is another “leadership” book that defies expectations. Rather than being bland, its message is relayed in the form of a parable and it’s actually hard to put down! The stories are vibrant and give you a new way to look at things making you want to conquer the world.

3. The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin

Don’t click away, stay with me for a second here. This is a year in Gretchen’s life while she tries to increase happiness in her life by following all prescriptions, research and wisdom on the subject. It’s funny, honest and will make you happy. And a happier you will make you more productive.

4. Innovate the Pixar Way: Business Lessons from the World’s Most Creative Corporate Playground by Bill Capodagli and Lynn Jackson

Innovation + Creativity = Pixar. ‘Nuff said.

Pssst…I also write about Pixar in my chapter in Age of Conversation 3, which is a new book on social media. Check it out and all proceeds go to charity.

Bonus! Delivering Happiness: A Path to Profits, Passion, and Purpose by Tony Hsieh, CEO of Zappos.com Inc.

This book arrived on my doorstep today and I can’t wait to read it. Zappos has been well known for being a fantastic place to work and for its amazing customer service. They also make money.

Change. Happiness. Innovation. Overcoming challeges. Creativity. That should keep you and your credit union busy!

Leave a comment