Frivolous Friday: YouTube and Credit Unions.

You might think of YouTube as the place where you can see chickens policing bunnies or where you can always find a cute kitten video.  But it’s more than that.  It’s also a source of news and information from the credit union movement.

First, there are the ads.  I’m just going to list these links instead of embedding them.  For whatever reason, I can’t get the WordPress hosted version of WordPress to embed.  Darn it Jim, I’m a lawyer, not a coder!  (But if you can tell me what I’m doing wrong, please do).

I thought this one was well done, but maybe that’s because I’m a word nerd.

This one is a take-off on another popular commercial. 

This one is quite short.

This is another short one.

I liked this testimonial.

But it’s not just ads.  YouTube is also a terrific low cost way to express a message.  Look what Dan Mica is doing at CUNA.  This really impressed me because even though he’s a busy guy,  he’s taking the time out to use new media to get CUNA’s message out.

In this one, he is talking about hostile take overs.

In this one, Mr. Mica tells us about threats to credit union business lending. 

You might be asking why we haven’t tried this yet.  It is actually in the works.  The plan is to start with a micro-seminar on one of the topics that I speak on regularly.  The hold-up is just me finding time to do it.  Of course, now that Battlestar Galactica is in reruns, this should be a little easier.  Before the fall, we’ll have at least one video up on the blog (well that’s the goal anyway).
 

4 thoughts on “Frivolous Friday: YouTube and Credit Unions.

  1. Pearrari, do you think I was deprecating Credit Union efforts on YouTube? Far from it, really. The idea behind Frivolous Friday posts is to have fun, not to be mean. YouTube can be extremely valuable to credit unions. I’m trying to use it more here at TCUB.

  2. Ha ha!… Not at all… My use of “deprecated” was obviously a bit esoteric. What I meant is that I tried to follow the link to “I liked this testimonial”… but it doesn’t work any longer. Perhaps that YouTube entry was retired (deprecated). Merry Christmas!

Leave a comment