A meta moment.

by:  Rob

Happy Thanksgiving, readers!  Around WWR, the Wednesday before Thanksgiving is always reminiscent of the hectic time Steve Martin goes through in Planes, Trains & Automobiles.  Clients are trying to get work to us before the holiday and we are trying to turn it around to create time during the holiday.  Thus today is guaranteed to be fast paced and challenging (which is the way I like it).

In describing this, I’m also apologizing for the lack of new posts since last week.  Would you believe I am sitting on two Shari Storm posts?  This is the lady who gives us traffic second only to the linking power of the mighty NAFCU!  I need to give them attention and it is actually easier to write these words than to meet my editing obligations.  In any event, we have those to look forward to next week.  Additionally, CIiCU #65 is in the can and waiting for Victor’s edits.  We were cranky this month.  I don’t know how to describe it any other way.  Yet, we hit some unique topics, one of which started out on Twitter and should get some attention.

In the coming months, I’m going to teach myself WordPress and migrate this blog in 2012 away from free WordPress to something we can customize and improve.  I looked at some talented vendors to help out but we do this blog with essentially no money.  So, like the little red hen, I’m going to have to do it myself.  By publicly committing to it, perhaps I’ll find the motivation over the holidays.  I get a great deal of satisfaction out of what we’ve done here.  We have very nice traffic and we convey detailed, information dense content upwards of three times a week.  The blog has grown to be fairly well recognized and I’m assuming given the traffic, that it is of some value to credit union folks.

So in 2012, I’m hoping to give the blog an overdue make-over.  I actually get requests for ads now.  Moreover because we use free WordPress, ads get inserted all the time by WordPress and we have no way to control them.  After we migrate, we will probably run unobtrusive banner ads for WWR but our content will not be affected.  You read this for the top flight content and we won’t mess with that.  If there is something you would like to see us do, leave a comment and maybe I can make it happen.

One thought on “A meta moment.

Leave a Reply

