Tinker FCU’s Make Your Own Video Contest.

I have to hand it to Credit Union TimesThis is my third blog post in a row concerning social media where the source of the information comes from the paper.  It’s the Credit Union Times social media trifecta.  I hope that CU Times continues to run stories such as these.            

In this instance, I am talking about  the story from the February 6, 2008 issue concerning Tinker Federal Credit Union.  Tinker is running a “make your own video” promotion.  It is approaching colleges and high schools to invite young people to submit entries.  Additionally, Tinker is promoting this through a Facebook page as well as a special Tinker website.            

To me, there’s almost no such thing as bad Internet marketing.  Here, the intent seems to be to reach out to young people.  That’s good because if you can create brand loyalty when a person is young, that person may stick with you for life.  The marketing is somewhat indirect, however, because creating a video associated with money is not the same as generating interest in specific credit union services.            

I’m not being critical of this program, far from it.  I applaud Tinker’s efforts in social media.  When I compare this program to Carolina Postal’s social media marketing campaign, I suspect that Carolina Postal will have more tangible, measurable results.  I could be completely wrong in this.  Yet, I cannot shake the idea that the more focused marketing is, the more effective it is.            

I guess it depends on what you’re trying to accomplish.  If you are trying to generate interest in the credit union itself and a broad range of products and services, it is hard to be specific.  On the other hand, if you are trying to launch a product intended for a specific audience, then it is easier to be specific.  It all depends on the needs of the credit union.

Leave a Reply

